Sahitya Akademi Award

1 min read
Sahitya Akademi Award Blog Image


Recently, Tamil author Rajasekaran (Devibharathi), Telugu writer T. Patanjali Sastry and Malayalam litterateur E.V. Ramakrishnan was among those named for the Sahitya Akademi Awards for the year 2023.

About Sahitya Akademi Award

  • It is awarded for the most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the major Indian languages recognised by the Akademi.
  • Akademi gives 24 awards annually to literary works in the languages it has recognized and an equal number of awards to literary translations from and into the languages of India.
  • Besides the 22 languages enumerated in the Constitution of India, the Sahitya Akademi has recognised English and Rajasthani as languages in which its programme may be implemented. 
  • The award, in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and 1,00,000 rupees will be presented.

Key points about the Sahitya Akademi

  • It was formally inaugurated by the Government of India on 12 March 1954.
  • Sahitya Akademi, India's National Academy of Letters, is the central institution for literary dialogue, publication and promotion in the country and the only institution that undertakes literary activities in 24 Indian languages, including English.
  • Though set up by the Government, the Akademi functions as an autonomous organisation.
  • It was registered as a society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860.

Q1) What is Literature?

It is a body of written works. The name literature has traditionally been applied to those imaginative works of poetry and prose distinguished by the intentions of their authors and the perceived aesthetic excellence of their execution.

Source: Sahitya Akademi Awards for 2023 announced