Sastra Ramanujan Prize

1 min read
Sastra Ramanujan Prize Blog Image


Ruixiang Zhang, Assistant Professor, University of California, Berkeley, USA will be awarded with the 2023 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize for his outstanding contributions in mathematics.

About Sastra Ramanujan Prize: 

  • The prize was instituted in the year 2005.
  • It is awarded every year by the SASTRA University on its campus near Kumbakonam in Tamil Nadu, on Ramanujan’s birth anniversary, December 22.
  • The prize is conferred annually to mathematicians from across the world who is less than 32 years of age, working in an area influenced by the Srinivasa Ramanujan.
  • The age limit is 32 years to commemorate the fact that Ramanujan accomplished a phenomenal body of work in this short span.
  • Cash prize: It carries a citation and an award of $10,000.
  • This award has gained global repute ever since it was instituted.
  • Other recipients: Manjul Bhargava and Akshay Venkatesh


Contribution of Ruixiang Zhang

  • He is a young mathematician whose fundamental work spans from analytic number theory, combinatorics, and Euclidean Harmonic Analysis to geometry.
  • Building on his Princeton PhD thesis, Zhang in collaboration with Shaoming Guo proved a multivariable generalisation of the main conjecture in Vinogradov’s Mean Value Theorem.
  • This work, which has appeared in Inventiones Mathematicae in 2019, is considered a major achievement.


Q1) Who is Srinivasa Ramanujan?

Srinivasa Ramanujan was an Indian mathematician who is widely regarded as one of the most brilliant and influential mathematicians in history. He made significant contributions to various areas of mathematics, particularly number theory, infinite series, and mathematical analysis.

Source: Mathematician Ruixiang Zhang to receive 2023 Sastra Ramanujan Prize