Shahpur Kandi Dam Project

1 min read
Shahpur Kandi Dam Project Blog Image


In a significant development, the completion of the Shahpur Kandi barrage, situated at the Punjab-Jammu and Kashmir border, has effectively halted the flow of water from the River Ravi to Pakistan.

About Shahpur Kandi Dam Project

  • It is located on the Ravi River in Pathankot district, Punjab, downstream from the existing Ranjit Sagar Dam.
  • The water released by Ranjit Sagar Dam is utilized for generating power from this project. 
  • The main purpose behind the construction of this dam is power generation and irrigation in Punjab and J&K States. 
  • It is constructed by the irrigation department of the Government of Punjab.
  • The project consists of a 55.5 m high concrete gravity dam, a 7.70 km long hydel channel, two head regulators, and two powerhouses.
  • The total output capacity of the project is 206 MW.

Key Facts about Ravi River

  • It is a trans-boundary river of India and Pakistan.
  • It is one of the five tributaries of the Indus River that give the Punjab (meaning “Five Rivers”) its name.
  • Origin: It originates in the western Himalayas in the Multhan tehsil of the Kangra district of Himachal Pradesh.
  • It then flows through the Indian state of Punjab and enters Pakistan, where it eventually joins the Chenab River in the province of Punjab.
  • Length: The total length of the Ravi River is approximately 720 kilometers (447 miles). Around 158 kilometers (98 miles) of the river's course lie in India, and the remaining 562 kilometers (349 miles) flow through Pakistan.
  • It is also called 'The River of Lahore' since that city is situated on its eastern bank.
  • Tributaries: The Ravi River is fed by several tributaries, including the Bhadal, the Ujh, the Tarnah, and the Basantar rivers in India, and the Aik, the Bara, and the Beas rivers in Pakistan.
  • Indus Water Treaty of Ravi River: The water of the rivers Ravi, Beas, and Sutlej is allocated to India under the Indus Water Treaty between India and Pakistan.

Q1) What is the Indus Water Treaty?

It was signed in September 1960 between India and Pakistan. The treaty was brokered by the World Bank, which, too, is a signatory to the treaty. The treaty fixed and delimited the rights and obligations of both countries concerning the use of the waters of the Indus River system. It gives control over the waters of the three "eastern rivers' -- the Beas, Ravi, and Sutlej -- to India, while control over the waters of the three "western rivers' ' -- the Indus, Chenab, and Jhelum -- to Pakistan.

Source: India Halts Flow Of Ravi River To Pakistan, Say Reports: Here's What We Know So Far