Shanghai Co-operation Organisation (SCO)

1 min read
Shanghai Co-operation Organisation (SCO) Blog Image


The SCO Member States recently confirmed their commitment to formation of a more representative, democratic, just and multipolar world order based on universally recognized principles of the international law and multilateralism.

About Shanghai Co-operation Organisation (SCO):

  • The SCO is a permanent intergovernmental international organisation. It is a Eurasian political, economic, and security alliance and has been the primary security pillar of the region.
  • History: 
    • It was established in 2001. It was preceded by the Shanghai Five mechanism.
    • The Heads of State Council (HSC) is the supreme decision-making body in the SCO.
    • It meets once a year and adopts decisions and guidelines on all important matters of the organisation.
  • The organisation has two permanent bodies:
    • the SCO Secretariat based in Beijing.
    • the Executive Committee of the Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) based in Tashkent.
  • Membership:
    • Eight member states: India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.
    • India and Pakistan joined as full members in 2017.
    • Four observer states:Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia.

Source : All India Radio