Shilp Guru and National Awards

1 min read
Shilp Guru and National Awards Blog Image


30 Shilp Guru Awards and 78 National Awards for the year 2017, 2018 and 2019 were presented to master craftspersons.


Shilp Guru Awards:

  • The Shilp Guru Awards are given to legendary master craftspersons in recognition of excellent craftsmanship, product excellence and the role played by them as gurus in the continuance of crafts to other trainee artisans as a vital part of traditional heritage.
  • The Awards were started in 2002, to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the resurgence of Handicrafts in India.
  • The Award consists of a gold coin, 2.00 lakhs prize money, a Tamrapatra, a shawl and a certificate.

National Awards:

  • The National Awards are being awarded since 1965 for outstanding craftsmanship in different craft categories.
  • The main crafts for which the Awards have been given are Metal Engraving, Chikan Hand Embroidery, Khurja Blue Pottery, Mata Ni Pachedi Kalamkari, Bandhani, Tie & Dye ,Hand Block Bagh Print, Warli Art, Stone Dust Painting , Sozni Hand Embroidery, Terracotta, Tanjore Painting, Sholapith, Kantha Hand Embroidery, Palm leaf Engraving, Brass wire inlay on wood, Wood Tarkashi, Madhubani Painting, Gold Leaf Painting , straw craft etc.
  • The Award consists of 1.00 lakh prize money, a Tamrapatra, a Shawl and a certificate.


Source : PIB