Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM)

1 min read
Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM) Blog Image


Recently, Aibawk cluster in the Aizwal, Mizoram becomes the first cluster to be completed under the Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission.


  • What is SPMRM? It was launched by the Prime Minister in February 2016 with a vision to provide amenities to rural areas which are perceived to be urban and have the potential to stimulate local economic development.
  • The Mission aim: Development of 300 Rurban clusters, in the next five years.
  • What is a ‘Rurban Cluster’? It is a cluster of geographically contiguous villages with a population of about 25000 to 50000 in plain and coastal areas and with a population of 5000 to 15000 in desert, hilly or tribal areas.
  • Selection of the ‘Rurban Clusters’
  • There are two categories of clusters under SPMRM: Non-Tribal and Tribal. The process of selection varies for each of these categories.
  • While selecting the Rurban cluster, the State may identify a large village/gram panchayat that are growth centers with resources available in the area that could potentially lead the economic transformation of the region. These growth centres could also be block headquarter, villages or census towns.
  • The clusters could then be formed by identifying geographically contiguous villages/gram panchayats within a radius of 5–10 km (or radius appropriate to the population density and geography of the region) around the identified growth centre.

Source : PIB