South Asian University (SAU)

1 min read
South Asian University (SAU) Blog Image


More than 500 academics and intellectuals from across the world recently wrote to foreign ministers of the SAARC countries, and to its Secretary-General, over the recent suspension of four faculty members at the SAARC-administered South Asian University (SAU).

About South Asian University (SAU):


  • SAU is an intergovernmental university funded by the governments of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) countries.
  • The University is currently functioning from Akbar Bhawan Campus in Chanakyapuri, New Delhi.
  • It falls under the purview of the Ministry of External Affairs. 
  • Its degrees are accredited in and recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC) and its equivalents in all the eight SAARC countries. 
  • The university offers graduate and doctoral level courses.


What is SAARC?

  • SAARC is an economic and political regional organisation of countries in South Asia set up in 1985. 
  • It aims to accelerate the process of economic and social development in its member states through increased intra-regional cooperation.
  • The Secretariat of the Association was set up in Kathmandu, Nepal, on 17 January 1987. 
  • SAARC has eight member countries (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri-Lanka).


Q1) What is BIMSTEC?

The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is a regional organization that was established on 06 June 1997 with the signing of the Bangkok Declaration. Initially known as BIST-EC (Bangladesh-India-Sri Lanka-Thailand Economic Cooperation), the organisation is now known as BIMSTEC and comprises seven Member States:Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.

Source: 4 SAU faculty members suspended: 500 scholars write to SAARC, foreign ministers of member countries