Svamitva Scheme

1 min read
Svamitva Scheme Blog Image


Recently, the Uttar Pradesh state government completed the distribution of 55,14,921 ‘gharaunis’ (rural house records) under the Svamitva scheme.

About Svamitva Scheme: 

  • A survey of villages and mapping with improvised technology in village areas (SVAMITVA) is a Central Sector Scheme.
  • It was launched in 2021 after the successful completion of the pilot phase of the scheme (2020-2021) in 9 states.
  • It seeks to give ownership of property in rural inhabited areas, by mapping land parcels using drone technology and providing a ‘Record of Rights’ to village household owners with the issuance of legal ownership cards (Property cards/Title deeds) to the property owners.
  • Implementation: It is implemented with the collaborative efforts of the Ministry of Panchayati Raj, State Revenue Department, State Panchayati Raj Department and Survey of India. 
  • Full coverage of nearly 6.62 lakh villages in India and establishment of an extensive CORS network with 567 CORS stations.

What is the CORS network?

  • A Continuously Operating Reference Stations (CORS) network provides regional positioning service.
  • In CORS Infrastructure, the corrections to the map are instantly sent to the rover receiver from the control centre which helps to find the very accurate positioning of the rover in real me.
  • It plays a major role in achieving centimetre accuracy positioning in many applications, for example, cadastral mapping, land information management, large-scale mapping etc.


Q1) What is the Central Sector Scheme?

Central Sector Schemes (CSS) are schemes that are fully funded by the Government of India and implemented by various ministries or departments. These schemes aim to provide support and assistance to specific target groups or sectors across the country.

Source: UP completes distribution of 55,14,921 ‘gharaunis’ under Svamitva scheme