Utkal Divas

1 min read
Utkal Divas Blog Image


Recently, the Prime Minister of India greeted the people on Utkal Dibasa.

About Utkal Dibas:

  • The modern state of Odisha was established on 1 April 1936 at Kanika Palace, Cuttack, as a province in India, and consists predominantly of Odia speakers.1 April is therefore celebrated as Utkal Divas (Odisha Day). 

What is the History of Odisha?

  • The British had occupied the Northern Circars, comprising the southern coast of Odisha, as a result of the Second Carnatic War by 1760, and incorporated them into the Madras Presidency gradually.
  • In 1803, the British ousted the Marathas from the Puri-Cuttack region of Odisha during the Second Anglo-Maratha War. The northern and western districts of Odisha were incorporated into the Bengal Presidency.
  • In 1903, the Utkal Sammilani organisation was founded to demand the unification of Odia-speaking regions into one state.
  • On 1 April 1912, the Bihar and Orissa Province was formed and on 1 April 1936, Bihar and Orissa were split into separate provinces.
  • The new province of Orissa came into existence on a linguistic basis during the British rule in India, with Sir John Austen Hubback as the first governor.
  • Following India's independence, on 15 August 1947, 27 princely states signed the document to join Orissa.


Q1) What is the 8th schedule of the Indian constitution?

The 8th schedule lists the official languages of the Republic of India. Part XVII of the Indian constitution deals with the official languages in Articles 343 to 351.

Source: PM greets on Utkal Dibasa