What are Gallantry Awards?

1 min read
What are Gallantry Awards? Blog Image


The President of India recently conferred 37 Gallantry awards, including eight Kirti Chakras and 29 Shaurya Chakras, during Defence Investiture Ceremony (Phase-1) held in New Delhi .

About Gallantry Awards:

  • They have been instituted by the Government of India to honour the acts of bravery and sacrifice of the officers/personnel of the Armed Forces, other lawfully constituted Forces and civilians.
  • These gallantry awards are announced twice a year - first on the occasion of the Republic Day and then on the occasion of the Independence Day.
  • Background:
    • Three gallantry awards, namely Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra and Vir Chakra, were instituted by the Government of India on 26th January, 1950.
    • Thereafter, the other three gallantry awards, i.e. the Ashoka Chakra Class-I, the Ashoka Chakra Class-II and the Ashoka Chakra Class-III were instituted in 1952. These awards were renamed Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra, respectively, in 1967.
  • Order of precedence: The order of precedence of these awards is the Param Vir Chakra, the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra.
  • All the gallantry awards may be awarded posthumously.
  • Persons recommended for the award shall not be involved in any adverse report or should not have been conveyed any displeasure or censure or given any punishment in a court martial proceedings or through administrative action.

The Ashoka Chakra, The Kirti Chakra & Shaurya Chakra:

  • Eligibility: The following categories of persons shall be eligible for the Ashoka Chakra, the Kirti Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra:
    • Officers and men and women of all ranks of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, of the Territorial Army, Militia and of any other lawfully constituted forces.
    • Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces.
    • Civilian citizens of either sex in all walks of life and members of Police Forces, including Central Para-Military Forces and Railway Protection Force.
  • Conditions of Eligibility:
    • The Ashoka Chakra is awarded for the most conspicuous bravery or some act of daring or pre-eminent act of valour or self-sacrifice otherwise than in the face of the enemy.
    • The Kirti Chakra is awarded for conspicuous gallantry otherwise than in the face of the enemy.
    • The Shaurya Chakra is awarded for gallantry otherwise than in the face of the enemy.


Q1) What is Param Vir Chakra?

The Param Vir Chakra (PVC) is India's highest military decoration, awarded for displaying distinguished acts of valour during wartime.On 26 January 1950, celebrated as Republic Day of India, the PVC was instituted as a Gallantry Medal with retrospective effect from 15 August 1947 by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the then President of India.The Medal translates as the "Wheel of the Ultimate Brave", and the award is granted for "most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy".  

Source: President Droupadi Murmu confers 37 Gallantry awards