What are Hyenas?

1 min read
What are Hyenas? Blog Image


The Max Planck Institute of Animal Behaviour (MPI-AB) recently discovered that the method by which hyenas inherit rank from their mothers, known as maternal inheritance, corrodes individuals’ social position.

About Hyenas:


  • Hyenas are doglike carnivores found in Asia and Africa and are noted for their scavenging habits.
  • Family: Hyaenidae
  • There are three hyena speciesspotted (Crocuta crocuta), brown (Arahyaena brunnea), and striped (Hyaena hyaena). Spotted hyenas are the largest of the three.
  • Habitat: Forest edges, grasslands, savannas, sub-deserts, and even mountains at an elevation of about 13,000 feet.
  • Distribution: These animals live throughout Africa, the Middle East, and parts of Asia.
  • Features:
    • They are four-legged animals with scraggly fur and large ears
    • They have long forelegs and a powerful neck and shoulders for dismembering and carrying prey. 
    • They are tireless trotters with excellent sight, hearing, and smell for locating carrion, and they are proficient hunters as well. 
    • All hyenas are more or less nocturnal.
    • These animals usually live for about 12 years, but they can live up to 25 years. Brown hyenas, however, typically have shorter lives.
  • Conservation Status: According to IUCN, spotted hyenas have populations of least concern. However, brown and striped hyenas are classified as near threatened.


Q1) What is a Carnivore?

A carnivore is an organism, in most cases an animal, that eats meat. A carnivorous animal that hunts other animals is called a predator; an animal that is hunted is called prey.


Source: Hyenas inherit power from moms, but it’s a privilege they pay dearly for: Study