What are the general features of Mughal gardens?

1 min read
What are the general features of Mughal gardens? Blog Image


The Central Government has decided to rename the Mughal Gardens inside the Rashtrapati Bhavan as Amrit Udayan.

Features of Mughal Gardens:

  • These are developed in Islamic architectural style by the Mughals in India and other countries.
  • These gardens are frequently seen as a place for relaxation and meditation.
  • Examples: The Taj Mahal Garden, Agra Fort, Humayun's Tomb Garden, and the Red Fort Garden.
  • Design:
    • This gardening design was influenced by Persian, namely the Charbagh structure.
    • Gardens are formal in style; symmetrically designed in rectangular or square plots.
    • The garden area is divided into four plots by water channels. These four channels represent four rivers of life. 
    • The running water provides coolness and freshness to the garden.
    • The four plots are planted with trees, shrubs, etc.,
    • The axis is straight and central and sometimes represented by trees line.
    • The water pool created in the centre with over flowing water serves as the central specimen.
    • Fountains, cascades are linked to the central pool to create scenic beauty.
    • Mughal gardens are surrounded by a high, robust wall. The wall's summit is decorated with serrated battlements. 
  • The entrances are often towering and beautiful. The doors are massive wooden structures studded with hefty iron nails and spikes.


Q1) What is a Charbagh Structure?

Charbagh or Chahar Bagh (Persian: چهارباغ, chahār bāgh, meaning “Four Bāghs” (“four gardens”)) is a Persian and Islamic quadrilateral garden layout based on the four gardens of Paradise mentioned in the Qur’an. 

Source: Mughal Gardens renamed as Amrit Udayan: VHP backs move, Opposition has this to say