What is Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS)?

1 min read
What is Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS)? Blog Image


The Aviation security body Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS) recently informed all the airports across the country to not promote any kind of advertisement or commercial at security checks.

About Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS)


  • It was initially set up as a Cell in the Directorate General of Civil Aviation in January 1978 on the recommendation of the Pande Committee, constituted as a reaction to the hijacking of the Indian Airlines flight on 10th September 1976.
  • It was reorganized into an independent department under the Ministry of Civil Aviation on 1st April 1987.
  • The aim of BCAS is to safeguard civil aviation operations against acts of unlawful interference.
  • The main responsibilities of BCAS include laying down standards and measures with respect to the security of civil flights at international and domestic airports in India.
  • It is the authoritarian unit for civil aviation security in India. It is controlled by an officer of the rank of Director General of Police and is designated as Commissioner of Security.
  • Headquarters: New Delhi
  • It has got four Regional Offices located at International airports i.e. Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai.


Functions of Bureau of Civil Aviation Security

  • Laying down Aviation Security Standards in accordance with Annex 17 to the Chicago Convention of International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) for airport operators, airline operators, and their security agencies responsible for implementing AVSEC measures.
  • Monitoring the implementation of security rules and regulations and carrying out a survey of security needs.
  • Ensure that the persons implementing security controls are appropriately trained and possess all competencies required to perform their duties.
  • Planning and coordination of Aviation security matters.
  • Surprise/Dummy checks to test the professional efficiency and alertness of security staff.
  • Mock exercise to test the efficacy of Contingency Plans and operational preparedness of the various agencies.


What is the Chicago Convention?

  • The Chicago Convention (also known as the Convention on International Civil Aviation), established the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO), a specialized agency of the United Nations charged with coordinating and regulating international air travel. 
  • The Convention was signed by 52 states on 7th December 1944 in Chicago, U.S., and came into effect on 4 April 1947.
  • It establishes rules of airspace, aircraft registration and safety and details the rights of the signatories in relation to air travel.
  • The Convention also exempts air fuels from tax. 
  • The Convention provided for the sovereignty of airspace above the territory of each state, together with five freedoms (later expanded to nine by the addition of four unofficial freedoms) which govern the freedom of states to operate air transport flights (including the carriage of passengers, cargo and mail) across, into and within the airspace of other states.


Q1) What is the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA)? 

It is the regulatory body in the field of Civil Aviation, primarily dealing with safety issues. It is responsible for regulation of air transport services to/from/within India and for enforcement of civil air regulations, air safety, and airworthiness standards. The DGCA also coordinates all regulatory functions with the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO). The headquarters are located in New Delhi with regional offices in various parts of India.

Source: BCAS Asks Airports Across India to Stop Promoting Ads At Security Checks, Here's Why