What is Grievance Appellate Committee?

1 min read
What is Grievance Appellate Committee? Blog Image


Recently, The Grievance Appellate Committees (GACs) were set up by the central government to look into user complaints against large social media companies such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

About Grievance Appellate Committee

  • The central government notified three Grievance Appellate Committees (GACs) under an amendment to IT Rules 2021.
  • Composition 
    • Each of the three GACs will have a chairperson, two whole-time members from various government entities and retired senior executives from the industry.
    • Term: Three years from the date of assumption of office.
  • The GAC will be a virtual digital platform that will operate only online and the digitally entire process, from the filing of an appeal to the decision, will be conducted digitally.
  • Users will have the option to appeal against the decision of the grievance officer of the social media intermediaries and other online intermediaries before this new appellate body. 
  • The Committee will endeavour to address the user's appeal within 30 days.


Q1) What is the mandate of IT rules 2021?

The IT Rules 2021 mandate social media platforms to exercise greater diligence with respect to the content on their platforms.

Source: Grievance Appellate Committees to handle user complaints against social media firms from March 1: IT Ministry