What is the Arab League?


12:20 PM

1 min read
What is the Arab League? Blog Image


The Arab League recently called for UN peacekeeping forces in the Palestinian territories during a summit in Bahrain's Manama.

About Arab League:

  • The Arab League, also called the League of Arab States (LAS), is a regional organization of Arab states in the Middle East and parts of Africa.
  • Formation:
    • It was formed in Cairo on March 22, 1945.
    • The league was chartered in response to concerns about postwar colonial divisions of territory as well as strong opposition to the emergence of a Jewish state on Palestinian territory.
  • Goals:
    • The overall aim of the league is to promote Arab interests.
    • Its main goals are to strengthen and coordinate the political, cultural, economic, and social programs of its members and to try to settle disputes among them or between them and third parties.
    • In 1950, the members also agreed to provide military support to help defend each other.
  • Headquarters: Cairo, Egypt.
  • Official language: Arabic
  • Members:
    • Currently, it has 22 members. The founding member states of the league are Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Iraq, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, and Yemen.
    • Members who joined later are Libya, Sudan, Tunisia, Morocco, Kuwait, Algeria, Bahrain, Oman, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, Mauritania, Somalia, the Palestine Liberation Organization, Djibouti, and Comoros.
    • The League regards Palestine as an independent state.
  • There are four nations that were conferred observer status by the League: Brazil, Eritrea, India, and Venezuela.
  • Council:
    • The highest body of the league is the Council, composed of representatives ofmember states, usually foreign ministers, their representatives, or permanent delegates. 
    • The League makes decisions on a majority basis, but there is no mechanism to compel members to comply with resolutions.
    • Each member has one vote on the Council, with decisions binding only on those states that have voted for them.

Q1: What is the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)?

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) is the second-largest intergovernmental organization in the world after the United Nations, with a collective population reaching over 1.8 billion. It has a membership of 57 states spread over four continents. It aims to preserve Islamic values, safeguard and defend the national sovereignty and independence of member states, and contribute to international peace and security. The OIC is the collective voice of the Muslim world to ensure and safeguard their interest in economic, socio, and political areas. It was established in September 1969.

Source: Arab League Demands UN Peacekeepers In Palestinian Regions; Israel’s Ally U.S. Responds | Watch