What is the Indus Water Treaty?

1 min read
What is the Indus Water Treaty? Blog Image


India recently issued a notice to Pakistan for modification of the Indus Waters Treaty (IWT).

About Indus Water Treaty:

  • It was signed in September 1960 between India and Pakistan.
  • The treaty was brokered by the World Bank, which too is a signatory to the treaty.
  • The treaty fixed and delimited the rights and obligations of both countries concerning the use of the waters of the Indus River system.
  • It gives control over the waters of the three "eastern rivers'  -- the Beas, Ravi, and Sutlej -- to India, while control over the waters of the three "western rivers' ' -- the Indus, Chenab, and Jhelum -- to Pakistan. 
  • The treaty allows India to use the western river waters for limited irrigation use and unlimited non-consumptive use for such applications as power generation, navigation, floating of property, fish culture, etc.
  • It lays down detailed regulations for India in building projects over the western rivers.


Q1) Which does the Indus River originate?

The river rises in the southwestern Tibet Autonomous Region of China near Lake Mapam at an elevation of about 18,000 feet (5,500 metres).

Source: After 62 years, India moves to amend its water treaty with Pak