What is the North Eastern Council?

1 min read
What is the North Eastern Council? Blog Image


The Golden Jubilee of the NEC, being celebrated in Shillong on the 18th December 2022, will be graced by the Hon’ble Prime Minister as the Chief Guest.

About the North Eastern Council:

  • North Eastern Council (NEC) is under the administrative purview of the Ministry of Development of the North-Eastern Region (MDoNER).
  • NEC is not a constitutional body, but a statutory organization established under the North Eastern Council Act, 1971, as amended in 2002.
  • It is the nodal agency for the economic and social development of the North Eastern Region which consists of the eight States of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura.
  • The Council comprises Governors and Chief Ministers of constituent States and three members nominated by the President.


Q1) Who is the Chairman of Northeast Council?

The Union Home Minister is ex-officio Chairman and the MoS(IC) DoNER is the ex-officio Vice-Chairman of the NEC.

Source: PIB