IAS Promotion Chart with Years

by Vajiram & Ravi


05:53 AM

The IAS promotion chart with years can help UPSC aspirants understand their career trajectory. It is important for candidates to have a complete understanding of the post before starting their preparation. There are certain rules governing the promotion of IAS officers. Meritorious IAS officers are recognized and promoted to higher levels to handle more significant responsibilities.

Officers must serve the country for a certain number of years to meet the eligibility requirements for promotion to higher positions. The salary increases proportionately according to the post to which the IAS officers are promoted. To understand the career prospects and challenges of becoming a civil servant, review the complete IAS promotion chart with years and salaries.

Promotion of IAS Officers

With time and on the basis of their meritorious work, IAS Officers are promoted to higher levels. Every year on the basis of the number of vacancies released, competent officers are selected for promotion by an appointment committee. Exceptional civil servants are offered higher positions, more responsibilities and better pay grades.

IAS Promotion Chart with Salary

An IAS Officer may hold various posts at different levels as under-





Under Secretary

Rs 56,100


Deputy Secretary

Rs 67,700



Rs 78,800


Joint Secretary to Government of India/ Secretary in State Government

Rs 1,44,200


Additional Secretary in Government of India / Principal Secretary in State Government

Rs 1,82,200


Secretary to Government of India/ Chief Secretary

Rs 2,25,000


Cabinet Secretary

Rs 2,50,000

Rules of Promotions for IAS Officers

There are many rules and regulations governing the promotion of IAS officers. Screening committees are established to promote IAS officers to different grades. The primary responsibility of the screening committee is to identify and select eligible and competent candidates for positions and fill vacancies.

Here are some of the rules for the promotion of IAS officers related to the screening committee:

  • The screening committee must select candidates in a fair and objective manner.
  • All vacancies, both current and anticipated, must be filled each year by the committee.
  • The committee must meet regularly to screen eligible candidates, determine which vacancies to fill, and so on. There should be a fixed meeting schedule that should not be delayed or postponed.
  • Only clear vacancies, such as those caused by deputation, death, promotion, or retirement, should be considered. Short-term or temporary vacancies should not be considered.

IAS Promotion Charts with Years

IAS officers who are meritorious and hard-working may be promoted to higher levels. Vacancies for civil servant promotions are released each year, and eligible and competent officers are selected by a committee. Exceptional civil servants are offered higher positions, more responsibilities, and better pay.

IAS Officers Promotion Chart with Years

Number of Years Needed in Service

Post in Central Secretariat

IAS Officer Ranks in State Secretariat

Designation of IAS Officer in District Administration


Assistant Secretary


Sub-Divisional Magistrate



Deputy Secretary

Additional District Magistrate


Deputy Secretary

Joint Secretary

District Magistrate



Special Secretary-Cum Director

District Magistrate


Joint Secretary

Secretary-cum Commissioner

Divisional Commissioner


Additional Secretary

Principal Secretary

Divisional Commissioner


No Equal Rank

Additional Chief Secretary

No Equal Rank



Chief Secretary

No Equal Rank

37+ Years

Cabinet Secretary of India

No Equal Rank

No Equal Rank


What are the promotion ranks for an IAS?

List of the designations that IAS officers can obtain after being promoted:

  • Assistant Secretary/Undersecretary/Sub-Divisional Magistrate
  • Under Secretary/Deputy Secretary/Additional District Magistrate
  • Deputy Secretary/Joint Secretary/District Magistrate
  • Director/Special Secretary-cum-Director/District Magistrate
  • Joint Secretary/Secretary-cum-Commissioner/Divisional Commissioner
  • Additional Chief Secretary
  • Chief Secretary
  • Cabinet Secretary of India

What are the promotion years of IAS officers?

The promotion years for IAS officers vary depending on their experience and performance. However, there is a general timeline that most officers follow.

  • Assistant Commissioner to Deputy Commissioner: 3-5 years
  • Deputy Commissioner to Joint Commissioner: 5-7 years
  • Joint Commissioner to Commissioner: 7-10 years
  • Commissioner to Secretary to Government: 10-15 years
  • Secretary to Government to Additional Chief Secretary: 15-20 years
  • Additional Chief Secretary to Chief Secretary: 20-25 years
  • Chief Secretary to Cabinet Secretary: 25-30 years

Of course, there are exceptions to this timeline. Some officers may be promoted more quickly if they perform exceptionally well, while others may be promoted more slowly if they have difficulty meeting expectations.

How do IAS Officers get promotions?

IAS officers get promotions based on a combination of factors, including:

  • Performance: IAS officers are evaluated on their performance in their current role, as well as their overall performance throughout their career.
  • Experience: IAS officers with more experience are generally more likely to be promoted than those with less experience.
  • Merit: IAS officers who are considered to be the most meritorious are generally more likely to be promoted.
  • Vacancies: The number of vacancies available for promotion also plays a role in the promotion process.
  • The promotion process for IAS officers is overseen by the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC). The ACC is a committee of the Cabinet of India that is responsible for selecting and appointing high-level government officials.
  • The ACC considers a number of factors when making promotion decisions, including the officer's performance, experience, merit, and the availability of vacancies. The ACC also considers the officer's potential for future leadership roles.