Baltic Sea

1 min read
Baltic Sea Blog Image


Germany and Britain recently intercepted three Russian military reconnaissance aircraft over the Baltic Sea.

About Baltic Sea:

  • It is part of the North Atlantic Ocean, situated in Northern Europe.
  • It extends northward from the latitude of southern Denmark almost to the Arctic Circle and separates the Scandinavian Peninsula from the rest of continental Europe.
  • The Baltic sea connects to the Atlantic Ocean through the Danish Straits.
  • It is the largest expanse of brackish water in the world. Its water salinity levels are lower than that of the World Oceans due to the inflow of fresh water from the surrounding land and the sea’s shallowness.
  • Surrounding Countries: Denmark, Germany, Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Russia, Finland and Sweden.
  • Depth: Its depth averages55 meters, and the deepest part is approximately 459 meters below the sea’s surface.
  • The Baltic Sea contains three major gulfs: the Gulf of Bothnia to the north, the Gulf of Finland to the east, and the Gulf of Riga slightly to the south of that.
  • More than 250 riversand streams empty their waters into the Baltic Sea. Neva is the largest river that drains into the Baltic Sea.
  • Islands: It is home to over 20 islands and archipelagos. Gotland, located off the coast of Sweden, is the largest island in the Baltic Sea.

What are the Baltic Nations?

  • These are three countries of north-eastern Europe, on the eastern shore of the Baltic Sea. 
  • Baltic Nations are Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.
  • They are bounded on the west and north by the Baltic Sea, on the east by Russia, on the southeast by Belarus, and on the southwest by Poland and an exclave of Russia. 


Q1) Which countries border the Baltic Sea?

There are nine countries with a shoreline at the Baltic Sea: Denmark, Germany, Poland, Russia (at the Gulf of Finland, and the Russian exclave of Kaliningrad Oblast), Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, and Sweden.

Source: Russian military aircraft intercepted over Baltic Sea: Germany