GRIHA norms

1 min read
GRIHA norms Blog Image


The Indian Army’s new Thal Sena Bhawan (TSB), coming up with GRIHA-IV (Green Rating for Integrated Habitat Assessment) norms.

About GRIHA norms: 

  • GRIHA is an acronym for Green Rating for Integrated Habitat Assessment. GRIHA is a Sanskrit word meaning – ‘Abode’.
  • It is a rating tool that helps people assesses the performance of their building against certain nationally acceptable benchmarks.
  • It evaluates the environmental performance of a building holistically over its entire life cycle, thereby providing a definitive standard for what constitutes a ‘green building’.
  • The rating system, based on accepted energy and environmental principles, will seek to strike a balance between the established practices and emerging concepts, both national and international.
  • It is developed by TERI (The Energy and Resources Institute).
  • This tool has been adopted by the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy. 
  • Criteria:
    • It assesses a building out of 34 criteria and awards points on a scale of 100.
    • In order to qualify for GRIHA certification, a project must achieve at least 50 points.
    • Certain criteria / sub-criteria are mandatory and have to be complied for the project to be at all eligible for rating.
  • Project scoring
    • 50-60 points is certified as a 1 star GRIHA rated building,
    • 61-70 is a 2 star GRIHA rated building,
    • 71-80 is a 3 star GRIHA rating building,
    • 81-90 is a 4 star GRIHA rated building
    • 91-100 is a 5 star GRIHA rated building


Q1) What is TERI?

The Energy and Resources Institute  is a research institute based in India that specializes in the fields of energy, environment, and sustainable development. TERI was founded in 1974 and has since become a prominent global think tank dedicated to researching and addressing various environmental and sustainable development challenges.

Source: ndian Army’s new Thal Sena Bhawan will conform to GRIHA-IV green norms