Key facts about Black Sea

1 min read
Key facts about Black Sea Blog Image


Russia recently warned that ships sailing to Ukraine's Black Sea ports will be seen as potential military targets.

About Black Sea:


  • It is a large inland sea located in southeastern Europe.
  • Bordering countries: It is bordered by six countries, Ukraine to the north, Russia to the northeast, Georgia to the east, Turkey to the south, Bulgaria to the southwest, and Romania to the west.
  • It is connected to the Mediterranean Sea through the Bosporus Strait, the Sea of Marmara, and the Dardanelles Strait.
  • It covers an area of approximately 436,000 square kilometers (168,000 square miles).
  • The Black Sea receives freshwater inflows all around the basin, but the important ones (Danube, Dniepr and Dniestr) discharge into the north-western coastal waters. 
  • Limited Oxygen Levels:
    • The Black Sea's deeper waters have lower levels of oxygen due to its unique geological and hydrological conditions.
    • The lack of oxygen in the lower layers creates a distinct environment, and it is one of the world's largest anoxic basins, meaning it has areas with very little dissolved oxygen.
  • Islands: It contains several islands, with the largest ones being Snake Island (Ukraine), Giresun Island (Turkey) and St. Ivan Island (Bulgaria).


Q1) What is an inland sea?

An inland sea is an extensive body of water that is largely or wholly surrounded by land. Any connection to the open ocean is restricted to one or a few narrow sea passages. Examples of such areas are the Baltic and the Mediterranean Seas.

Source: Russia warns ships in Black Sea, Ukraine to create temporary grains export route