Key facts about Turkey

1 min read
Key facts about Turkey Blog Image


A powerful 7.8 magnitude earthquake recently hit southern Turkey and northern Syria, leaving thousands dead and injured.

About Turkey:

  • Turkey, also called Türkiye, lies partly in Asia and partly in Europe.
  • It is surrounded on three sides by the Black Sea, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Aegean Sea.
  • The main portion of the Turkish state is located on the Anatolia peninsula, also known as Asia Minor, the westernmost part of Asia.
  • Turkey covers an area of 783,562 km² and has a population of 83.2 million people.
  • There are two narrow straits in northwestern Turkey, the Bosporus, which connects the Black Sea with the Sea of Marmara, and the Dardanelles, which connect the Aegean arm of the Mediterranean Sea with the Sea of Marmara.
  • Capital: Ankara
  • Largest city: Istanbul
  • Bordering countries: It is bordered by Bulgaria and Greece to the west; Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Iran to the east; Georgia to the northeast; Syria to the south; and Iraq to the southeast.
  • Religion: More than 99 percent of the population is Muslim, mostly Sunni.
  • Spoken Languages: Turkish (official), Kurdish, and Arabic.


 Q1) Where is Anatolia peninsula?

Anatolia Peninsula forms the western extremity of Asia. It is bounded by the Black Sea to the north, the Mediterranean Sea to the south, and the Aegean Sea to the west. Its eastern boundary is generally marked by the southeastern Taurus Mountains.

Source: Turkey-Syria Earthquake Live Updates: Quake toll passes 8,300 after more than 2,400 reported dead in Syria