National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA)

1 min read
National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA) Blog Image


The National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA) recently approved shifting three tigresses from Ranthambore Tiger Reserve (RTR) to two other state reserves.

 About National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA):

  • It is a statutory body under the Ministry of Environment, Forest, and Climate Change (MoEFCC).
  • It was established in 2006 under Wildlife (Protection) Act 1972.
  • Objectives:
    • Providing statutory authority to Project Tiger so that compliance of its directives becomes legal.
    • Fostering accountability of Center-State in management of Tiger Reserves by providing a basis for MoU with States within the federal structure.
    • Providing for an oversight by Parliament.
    • Addressing livelihood interests of local people in areas surrounding Tiger Reserves.
  • NTCA Composition:
    • Minister in charge of MoEFCC (as Chairperson),
    • Minister of State in MoEFCC (as Vice-Chairperson),
    • three members of Parliament, the Secretary (MoEFCC), and other members.

Key facts about Ranthambore Tiger Reserve (RTR):

  • Location:
    • It is located in Rajasthan.
    • It is located at the junction of the Aravali and Vindhya hill ranges.
  • Its flagship species is Panthera Tigris Tigris- the Indian or the Bengal tiger. 
  • Rivers: The Rivers Chambal in the South and the Banas River in the North bound the tiger reserve. 
  • Ranthambore Fort, World Heritage Site, is located within RTR.
  • Landscape: It alternates between a dry deciduous jungle and an open grassy meadow dotted by numerous lakes and rivers.
  • Vegetation: Dry-deciduous forest.
  • Flora:
    • The most dominant plant is the 'Dhok'. This tropical tree constitutes more than three-fourths of the vegetation of this national forest.
    • Apart from the Dhok tree, the other prime trees of this park are Banyan (Ficus bengalensis), Pipal (Ficus religiosa) and Neem (Azadirachta indiaca).
  • Fauna:
  • Apart from tigers, the major wild animals include Leopard, Nilgai, Wild boar, Sambar, Hyena, Sloth bear and Chital.


Q1) What is the Wildlife (Protection) Act 1972?

India's Wildlife Protection Act of 1972 is a comprehensive piece of legislation that regulates sanctuaries, national parks, and zoos among other protected locations.  Its primary aim is to curb the illegal trade in wildlife and the derivative parts.

Source: Rajasthan: NCTA approves relocation of tigresses from Ranthambore