Papua New Guinea

1 min read
Papua New Guinea Blog Image


Two frontline Indian naval warships recently made a port call at Port Moresby as part of ongoing initiatives for enhancing maritime partnership and cooperation with Papua New Guinea.

About Papua New Guinea:


  • Location:  It is an island country that lies in the southwestern Pacific.
  • It includes the eastern half of New Guinea (the world’s second-largest island) and many small offshore islands.
  • NeighboursIndonesia to the west, Australia to the south and Solomon Islands to the southeast.
  • Capital: Port Moresby
  • Terrain: It is mainly mountainous but has low-lying plains in southern New Guinea.
  • The islands that constitute Papua New Guinea were settled over a period of 40,000 years by a mixture of peoples who are generally referred to as Melanesians.
  • Language:
    • English is the main language of government and commerce.
    • In most everyday contexts, the most widely spoken language is Tok Pisin
    • Linguistically, it is the world's most diverse country, with more than 800 languages.
  • Religion: The majority of Papua New Guinea’s people are at least nominally Christian.
  • Government:
    • Papua New Guinea became self-governing on 1 December 1973 and achieved independence on 16 September 1975.
    • The country is a constitutional monarchy and a member of the Commonwealth.
    • The British monarch, represented by a governor-general, is the head of state, and the Prime Minister is the head of government.


Q1) What is a constitutional monarchy?

A constitutional monarchy is a form of government where a monarch, typically a king or queen, serves as the head of state, but their powers and authority are limited by a constitution or a set of laws. In a constitutional monarchy, the monarch's role is largely ceremonial and symbolic, and they do not have the absolute power to govern the country.

Source: With focus on Pacific, Indian warships make port call at Papua New Guinea