1 min read
Rhododendron Blog Image


The rhododendron blossom is one of the Himalayan region’s numerous jewels; it is a representation of grace, tenacity, and cultural value.

About Rhododendron

  • It is a genus of flowering plants that includes over a thousand species, including trees, shrubs, and creepers. 
  • These are a diverse genus of about 1,000 species of woody flowering plants in the heath family (Ericaceae), notable for their attractive flowers and handsome foliage.
  • Habitat: They occur in a variety of habitats, including alpine regions, coniferous and broadleaved woodlands, temperate rain forests, and even tropical jungle
  • Distribution: They are native to the temperate regions of Asia, North America, and Europe, as well as to the tropical regions of Southeast Asia and northern Australia.
  • They also require a slightly acid soil to grow well.
  • They exhibit an enormous diversity of size and shape, from prostrate ground covers growing no more than a few inches high to trees more than 100 feet tall. 
  • There are 132 taxa (80 species, 25 subspecies and 27 varieties) of rhododendrons found in India.
  • They are also known as "Lali Guras" in local language, and are the national flower of Nepal and the state tree of the state of Uttarakhand in India.

Q1) What is Temperate rainforest?

It is a biome dominated by a mix of broad-leaved or coniferous trees that occurs in the middle latitudes, mostly between approximately 40° and 60° in both Northern and Southern hemispheres, and characterized by abundant moisture present throughout the year. 

Source: The power of the rhododendron