Key Facts about South China Sea

1 min read
Key Facts about South China Sea Blog Image


China has warned that remnants of a rocket would hit an area in the South China Sea, following the sixth deployment of its most powerful launch vehicle recently.

About South China Sea

  • It is an arm of the western Pacific Ocean that borders the Southeast Asian mainland. 
  • It embraces an area of about 1,423,000 square miles (3,685,000 square km), with a mean depth of 3,976 feet (1,212 metres).
  • Boundaries:
    • It is bordered by China, Taiwan, the Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia, Brunei, and Vietnam.
    • The southern boundary of the South China Sea is a rise in the seabed between Sumatra and Borneo, and the northern boundary stretches from the northernmost point of Taiwan to the coast of Fujian province, China, in the Taiwan Strait.
  • It is connected by the Taiwan Strait with the East China Sea and by the Luzon Strait with the Philippine Sea (both marginal seas of the Pacific Ocean).
  • The South China Sea and the East China Sea together form the China Sea.
  • The two major archipelagos are known as the Paracel Islands, controlled by China, and the Spratly Islands.
  • Climate: The weather in the sea is tropical and largely controlled by monsoons.
  • It is the second most used sea lane in the world. It is a significant trade route for crude oil from the Persian Gulf and Africa through the Strait of Malacca to Singapore, Thailand, Hong Kong, Taiwan, South Korea, and Japan. 
  • Major Ports: Hong Kong, Singapore, and Kaohsiung in southern Taiwan.

Q1) What is the South China Sea dispute?

The South China Sea disputes refer mainly to those over delimitation regarding islands and reefs in the South China Sea as well as adjacent waters. Claimants include China, Vietnam, the Philippines, Malaysia, and Brunei.

Source: China warns rocket remnants to hit South China Sea