What is Orcas?


11:04 AM

1 min read
What is Orcas? Blog Image


Two cities in United States’ state of Washington have taken steps to formally declare their support for legal rights for a group of endangered orcas. City of Port Townsend and City of Gig Harbor in the Pacific Northwest have signed proclamations to secure the inherent rights of the Southern Resident Orcas.

About Orcas:

  • Orcas are found across the world and are also known as “killer whales”.
  • It is the largest member of the Delphinidae family, or dolphins.
  • Members of this family include all dolphin species, as well as other larger species, such as long-finned pilot whales and short-finned pilot whales, whose common names also contain "whale" instead of "dolphin”.
  • Killer whales are highly social, and most live in social groups called pods (groups of maternally related individuals seen together more than half the time).
  • Killer whales rely on underwater sound to feed, communicate, and navigate.


Southern Resident Killer Whales:

  • Southern Resident killer whales are the only endangered population of killer whales in the United States.
  • Despite federal legal protections for nearly two decades, the population of the orcas continues to decline and is critically endangered.
  • Only 73 Southern Resident Orcas now exist in the wild.


Q1) What are the three different types of Orca found in the North pacific ocean?

There are three distinct types of orcas recognized in the eastern North Pacific Ocean—transient, resident & offshore. Residents live close to shore in large pods of about 10 to 20 individuals. Offshore orcas are similar to residents, but are distinguished by their smaller overall size and rounded, nicked fins. Transient orcas live in smaller groups of about three to seven individuals and spend their lives out at sea

Source: Down to Earth